Monday, January 16, 2012

Color on the Ceiling?



Ceilings were traditionally painted white because light reflects off of them making everything in the room, including you, look fabulous (have you seen the TLC show "Brides of Beverly Hills" or RHWBH on Bravo?  You know the party planner Kevin Lee?  Every time I write fabulous I say it in his voice and picture his arms flailing in the air). 

Anyway, white ceilings can also give the illusion of space, height and light. 



We opted to paint our ceilings the same color as our walls and I love how it turned out!  I will have to say that I had some paint panic, which is a nice way of saying that I had a complete breakdown, while we were having our walls and ceilings painted.  It was hard to see the process of the walls and ceilings going from bright white to blue in one room and gray in another, but in the end I am really happy with the outcome.



Painting your ceiling can really bring out the architectural details, which is one of the main reasons why we chose to paint ours.  I have added pictures of our hallway and dining room above.  Notice how the painted ceiling really makes the molding in our hallway pop...same with the wood detailing on our dining room ceiling.

Painting ceilings the same color as your walls actually makes a room look larger.  Your eyes are not drawn to the white ceiling which emphasizes where the wall ends and instead your eye just roams the entire space.


See the photo above for an example.  I think that if the ceiling was white it would show how low the ceilings are and actually make the room look smaller. If you currently have dark colored walls and are concerned that sharing the same paint color for your walls and ceilings will darken your room, you can also add white to the color and this will help lighten up the room!
via
Painting the ceiling in a large room with high ceilings actually does the opposite and makes the ceiling come down into the room, thus making the room cozier.  This especially works with a different color on the ceiling than on the walls...see the picture below.  LOVE this room!!!

  
Here are different examples of rooms with the ceilings painted a color...

via
 

via


via


via


via



via


via


via









What do you think?  Painting ceilings a color is "fabulous" or not your thing?





10 comments:

  1. Yes I can see the difference. When painting the interior of a home painting the ceiling the same color as the wall makes the room look bigger. Love the Entrance way and the blue room. Even the small brown master bedroom, they are very tastefully done.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

 

design + development by kelly christine studio